Wildfire Research Team

The Wildfire Research Team works to study many aspects of biomass burning, a major terrestrial disturbance agent and an important contributor to the concentrations of many atmospheric species.  On average more than 3% of Earth’s vegetated land surface are burned annually, and for atmospheric species such as carbon monoxide and black carbon particles biomass burning represents one of the largest sources.

Our work focused initially on satellite Earth Observation methods, but now includes airborne and ground-based remote sensing, other field measurement techniques (e.g. gas and aerosol sampling), simulation modelling, fire forecasting, as well as links to Fire and Rescue services related to training and operationalisation of some of these techniques.

NASA’s Earth Observatory has many excellent Feature Articles that introduce this type of work.

Present and Past members of the Group are listed below (click on their name for further info)

  Professor Martin Wooster Group Leader martin.wooster@kcl.ac.uk
  Dr Thomas Smith Lecturer thomas.smith@kcl.ac.uk
 

Dr Ronan Paugam
Research Associate ronan.paugam@kcl.ac.uk
  Dr Ralph Beeby Research Associate ralph.beeby@kcl.ac.uk
  Dr Jon Atherton Research Associate
jon.atherton@kcl.ac.uk
  Patrick Freeborn PhD Candidate patrick.freeborn@kcl.ac.uk
  Joshua Johnston PhD Candidate Joshua.Johnston@NRCan-RNCan.gc.ca

Past Group Members

Completed PhD Students

  • Maria Tattaris
  • Sam Sperling
  • Matthew Blackett